View Single Post

Old 06-15-2008, 12:06 PM
Jovi Addict

Send a message via AIM to JJx23

I purchased Journey's new album "Revelation" and I must say that being a hardcore Journey fan, I really do enjoy listening to Arnel Pineda. I am a professional writer, so I tend to review upcoming albums that are due to be really hot, etc. I have yet to review it but plan on it shortly.

Journey is a band, and even though there were people who only went to Journey concerts to see Perry, I think it should be noted that many bands have changed over the years. The classics belong to the Journey franchise, and surely when we all listen to them, we hear Steve Perry's voice singing them, but Journey moved on and they found someone who isn't trying to be like Perry (arguable?), and he even stated that in numerous press conferences, etc. Although I have to say that anyone listening to Arnel Pineda can vouch with me that he is trying his best to sound like Perry because Neal Schon said they wanted to return to their original sound- which was what? Steve Perry in a nutshell.

Now I am not saying that Pineda is going to live in Perry's shadow... Okay I am a little bit, but any singer taking on the lead role of the band that Perry pretty much lead to stardom is going to have to feel a little bit of pressure due to Perry's legacy- it's just the way it is unfortunately. I am a Journey fan, and when I go to a Journey concert, I go to see the entire band, not just the lead singer. It's great that Schon and the band found a lead singer that sounds a lot like Perry, but they are obviously going to try and be exactly how they were back in the 70s and 80s. If you think about it, Neal is sitting on top of a goldmine right now, and when I zoom in closely on Neal on stage, I can see it in his eyes, he puts a lot more into his performances than he did when Soto was the lead singer.